My mom and I recently returned from spending a few weeks in Great Britain. I can’t even begin to tell you what a dream come true it was to walk the streets that Dickens walked, amble through the countryside that inspired Jane Austen, see the rooms in which Shakespeare spent his childhood, and visit the pub where C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien ate, drank, and debated the ideas that found their way into the books I love today. It was absolutely magical!

Divinity School of Bodleian Library

As with any Mim & Mum trip, though, there were a few minor snags! Nothing major but they did help me realize something important. Kindness still lives in the world, despite the media’s desperate attempts to get us to believe otherwise. On several occasions, total strangers came to our rescue without our even having to ask for their help. The compassion and generosity they showed gave me such hope. Our world isn’t such a hostile place to live in as I am sometimes led to believe. What a wonderful thing to know and what a great inspiration to practice that same kindness to strangers here at home.

Shakespeare’s Birthplace

Leave a comment